Edith Cavell
Nursing Scholarship Fund

The Edith Cavell Nursing Scholarship Fund Philanthropy of the
Dallas County Medical Society Alliance Foundation

Since 1954, the DCMSAF Edith Cavell Nursing Scholarship Fund has been awarding scholarships to exceptional nursing students in Dallas County. The scholarship was created to offer financial support and professional mentorship to students with the understanding that best practice in medicine requires exceptional bedside nursing to achieve clinical success. It has awarded almost $700.000 in scholarships for academic study in an accredited baccalaureate nursing program in Dallas County.

The Edith Cavell Nursing Scholarship Fund Board of Trustees will review all applications and award scholarships to fitting applicants with a dedication to bedside nursing in Dallas County. Scholarships are awarded Fall and Spring semesters and may be renewed for a total of four semesters, if the recipient continues to comply with the scholarship requirements.

All applicants and continuing scholars must:

1. Make every effort to attend the DCMSA&F scholar recognition event held annually

2. Be a United States citizen and resident of Dallas County

3. Be a full-time student, taking a minimum of a 12 credit hours/semester

4. Be accepted/enrolled in an accredited baccalaureate nursing program in Dallas County

5. Demonstrate a need for the financial aid to pursue academic study

6. Maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0

Application Requirements and Checklist:

1. Completed application document

2. Letter of acceptance from Baylor or TWU College of Nursing

3. Current official transcript from the University

4. Letter of recommendation from an academic professor

5. Character reference from a non-relative

6. A photograph of the applicant you consent to allowing the DCMSA&F to share with its members and social media platforms

For further Information

Contact: Angie Kadesky kmkmd@aol.com